Wolle

 Wool means various animal hairs, which can be spun and woven. The best known wool supplier is sheep, followed by goat, rabbit, alpaca and camel.

Usually the wool dress of a sheep is obtained by hand or machine scissors, in some animals the wool is combed out or plucked (the plucking is painless for the animals, loose hair is already plucked from the fur). It is then sorted and formed into an untwisted, coarse roving and finely spun. For coarser textiles, the yarn is dyed before weaving, for smooth fabrics, such as a suit fabric, it is dyed only after weaving.

 

Different wool qualities of sheep's wool are determined by hair length, crimping and fineness.

Kurkwolle: a soft and elastic product, which originates from the first shearing of a sheep (approx. 6 months old).

Merino wool: it comes from the famous Merino sheep and is characterised by its high-quality wool. It is soft, fine and strongly crimped.

Crossbred wool: it comes from Crossbred sheep, a cross between coarse wool and merino sheep. It is medium stapled, medium fine and not as soft or crimped as merino wool.

Cheviot wool: this is a long staple, coarse wool. It is used in the carpet industry and in the technical sector.

New Wool: If a product is called new wool, it is a product that comes directly from a live animal. This quality feature prevents the product from being made from old textiles or wool from deceased animals.

 

In addition to sheep, wool is also obtained from other animal skins:

Mohair: this is how the wool of the Angor goat is called. It is hardly crimped and has a higher density than sheep's wool.

Alpaca wool: with its many miscroscopically small air inclusions, the wool of alpacas is the leader in the field of heat storage.

Angora wool: this is the particularly soft and hardly crimped wool of the Angora rabbit.

Quiviut: this is the name given to the undercoat of musk oxen that is difficult to spin. The result is very high-quality wool.

 

Properties

Wool clothing has excellent thermoregulation properties as its fibres consist of approx. 85% air. This makes it possible for a woollen sweater to store body heat in the fabric and for a headscarf to protect against external heat in the warm regions of the earth.  Wool absorbs moisture well without feeling wet, the surface repels moisture.

In contrast to synthetic fibres, wool fibres are hardly inflammable, which is why they are often used in trains and airplanes as well as for fire brigade and soldier uniforms.

Wool clothing rarely creases and can be stretched by more than 40% when wet. When dry, it regains its original fit. However, this property also depends on the quality of the wool, as poor quality wool has less elasticity.

 

Care

Wool products are hardly susceptible to dirt and odours, which is why it is usually sufficient to shake them out and ventilate them. If you still want to wash your woollen clothes, you should first and foremost follow the guidelines on the washing list.

It is advisable to choose the wool washing cycle or the hand washing cycle with a temperature between 30 and 40°C. The washing cycle should be done by hand. A wool detergent or mild detergent should be used. Usually wool clothes should not be put in the tumble dryer, if the washing notes have other information, then you should do this at very low temperatures. Otherwise, washed clothes should be dried lying down.

Wigens Ivy Classic Cap Wool Wigens Ivy Classic Cap Wool
The Wigens Ivy Classic Cap is a traditional flat cap in an oval Ivy shape with a smooth crown and a specially trimmed back for a perfect fit. This elegant wool hat with a black lining and fold-out earmuffs is always comfortable, casual...
€129.95 *
Wigens Ivy Classic Cap Wool Wigens Ivy Classic Cap Wool
The Wigens Ivy Classic Cap is a traditional flat cap in an oval Ivy shape with a smooth crown and a specially trimmed back for a perfect fit. This elegant wool hat with a black lining and fold-out earmuffs is always comfortable, casual...
€129.95 *
Red Wing Arctic Wool Socks Red Wing Arctic Wool Socks
The thick wool socks offer a lot of warmth and comfort during the cold season. Workers in Northern America have been swearing by this Red Wing product for many years. Details: Material: 84% Wool, 9% Acrylic, 7% Nylon, 2%...
€25.00 *
Hackett Blazer Hackett Blazer
Beautiful light summer jacket by "Hackett" made of high twisted wool. This jacket has been specially designed for travelling - it is dirt-repellent and crease-resistant due to the upturned wool! With two Flap pockets left and...
€539.95 *

Wolle

Unter Wolle versteht man verschiedene Tierhaare, welche verspinnt und gewebt werden können. Bekanntester Wolllieferant ist das Schaf, gefolgt von Ziege, Kaninchen, Alpaka und Kamel.

Für gewöhnlich wird das Wollkleid eines Schafes per Hand- oder Maschinenscheren gewonnen, bei einigen Tieren wird die Wolle ausgekämmt oder ausgezupft (das Zupfen ist schmerzfrei für die Tiere, hierbei werden bereits lose Haare aus dem Fell gezupft). Anschließend wird es sortiert und zu einem ungedrehten, groben Vorgarn geformt und feingesponnen. Für gröbere Textilien wird das Garn vor dem Weben eingefärbt, bei glatten Stoffen, wie zum Beispiel einem Anzugstoff, wird es erst nach dem Weben eingefärbt.

 

Verschiedene Wollqualitäten von Schafswolle werden anhand von Haarlänge, Kräuselung und Feinheit bestimmt.

Kurkwolle: ein weiches und elastisches Produkt, welches von der erstern Schur eines Schafes stammt (ca. 6 Monate alt)

Merino-Wolle: sie stammt von dem bekannten Merinoschaf und zeichnet sich durch seine hochwertige Wolle aus. Sie ist weich, fein und stark gekräuselt.

Crossbredwolle:  sie stammt von Crossbredschafen, einer Kreuzung aus Grobwoll- und Merinoschaf. Sie ist mittelstapelig, mittelfein und nicht so weich oder stark gekräuselt wie die Merinowolle.

Cheviotwolle: hierbei handelt es sich um eine langstapelige, grobe Wolle. Sie findet Verwendung in der Teppichindustrie und im technischen Bereich.

Schurwolle: wird ein Produkt als Schurwolle bezeichnet, so handelt es sich hierbei um ein Produkt, welches unmittelbar von einem lebenden Tier stammt. Dieses Qualitätsmerkmal schließt aus, dass das Produkt aus Alttextilien oder aus Wolle verstorbener Tiere gewonnen wurde.

 

Neben dem Schaf wird auch aus anderen Tierfellen Wolle gewonnen:

Mohair: so bezeichnet man die Wolle der Angorziege. Sie ist kaum gekräuselt und besitzt eine höhere Dichte als Schafwolle

Alpakawolle: mit seinen vielen, miskroskopisch kleinen Lufteinschlüssen ist die Wolle der Alpakas der Spitzenreiter im Bereich der Wärmespeicherung.

Angorawolle: hierbei handelt es sich um die besonders weiche und kaum gekräuselte Wolle des Angorakaninchens.

Quiviut: so wird die schwer verspinnbare Unterwolle von Moschusochsen bezeichnet. Verarbeitet entsteht sehr hochwertige Wolle.

 

Eigenschaften

Wollkleidung hat hervorragende Thermoregulationseigenschaften, da ihre Fasern aus ca. 85% Luft bestehen. Dadurch ist es möglich, dass ein Wollpullover die Körperwärme im Gewebe speichert und ein Kopftuch in den warmen Regionen der Erde vor äußeren Hitzeeinwirkungen schützt.  Wolle nimmt Feuchtigkeit gut auf ohne sich dabei nass anzufühlen, die Oberfläche stösst Feuchtigkeit ab.

Im Gegensatz zu synthetischen Fasern sind Wollfasern schwer entflammbar, weshalb sie gerne in Zügen und Flugzeugen, als auch für Feuerwehr- und Soldatenuniformen eingesetzt wird.

Kleidung aus Wolle knittert selten und kann im nassen Zustand um mehr als 40% gestreckt werden. Im trockenen Zustand erhält es wieder seine ursprüngliche Passform. Diese Eigenschaft ist allerdings auch abhängig von der Qualität der Wolle, da qualitativ schlechte Wollware eine geringere Elastizität hat.

 

Pflege

Produkte aus Wolle sind kaum schmutz- und geruchsanfällig, weshalb für gewöhnlich ein Ausschütteln und Auslüften reicht. Sollten sie trotzdem ihre Wollkleidung waschen wollen, sollten Sie sich in erster Linie an die Richtlinien des Waschzettels halten.

Empfehlenswert ist es den Wollwaschgang oder den Handwaschgang mit einer Temperatur zwischen 30 und 40°C zu wählen. Es sollte einj Wollwaschmittel oder Feinwaschmittel genutzt werden. Für gewöhnlich sollte Wollkleidung nicht in den Trockner gegeben werden, wenn die Waschzettel andere Angaben haben, dann sollten Sie dies bei sehr niedrigen Temperaturen machen. Ansonsten sollte die gewaschene Kleidung liegend getrocknet werden.

Wigens Ivy Classic Cap Mix Wolle Wigens Ivy Classic Cap Mix Wolle
Die Wigens Ivy Classic Cap ist eine traditionelle flache Kappe in ovaler Ivy-Form mit einer glatten Krone und einem spezialverkleideten Rücken für eine perfekte Passform. Diese elegante Mütze aus Wolle mit schwarzem Innenfutter und...
129,95 € *
Wigens Ivy Classic Cap Mix Wolle Wigens Ivy Classic Cap Mix Wolle
Die Wigens Ivy Classic Cap ist eine traditionelle flache Kappe in ovaler Ivy-Form mit einer glatten Krone und einem spezialverkleideten Rücken für eine perfekte Passform. Diese elegante Mütze aus Wolle mit schwarzem Innenfutter und...
129,95 € *
Red Wing Socken Arctic Wolle Red Wing Socken Arctic Wolle
Die Dicken Wollsocken bieten während der kalten Jahreszeit viel Wärme und einen hohen Tragekomfort. Auf dieses Red Wing Produkt schwören die Arbeiter im nördlichen Amerika schon seit vielen Jahren. Details: Material: 84%...
24,95 € *
Hackett Sakko Wolle Hackett Sakko Wolle
Schönes leichtes Sommersakko von "Hackett" aus hochgedrehter Wolle. Dieses Sakko ist extra fürs Reisen entworfen worden - Es ist schmutzabweisend und durch die hochegedrehte Wolle knitterfrei! Mit zwei Pattentaschen links und rechts....
539,95 € *