Products from Forge de Laguiole

Forge de Laguiole

LAGUIOLE, a small village on the volcanic plateaus of the Aveyron/Aubrac in southern France, gave its name to a knife by which it is known throughout the world today: the "Laguiole" (one speaks it Lajoll!).
It all began in 1829 in the small town of Laguiole in the Aveyron, south of the Auvergne, when a young blacksmith named Pierre-Jean Calmels developed a knife that had never before been known in the history of cutlery.

The people of his region were cattle breeders and farmers. Their specialities are famous: the "Roquefort" from Millau, the "Laguiole" cheese from Laguiole, the cattle, whose excellent meat is considered a special delicacy throughout France, the sausages, which mature particularly delicately in the clear, dry air of the Aveyron. Excellent wines have always been produced in the Auvergne, and there was an important natural resource at that time: coal.

Many Auvergnatten were therefore "Routiers" (from "la route", the street), who travelled with their horse-drawn carts through France and sometimes came far to Spain. At the time, they had one thing in common with farmers and cattle breeders: they wore the "Capuchadou", the typical small dagger of the Aveyron, on their belt. One day, on their travels to Spain, they brought a knife with them that they liked and that they showed to their cutler: a NAVAJA. It was undoubtedly superior to the CAPUCHADOU because it was foldable and therefore easy to store in your trouser pocket. This knife was not as obstructive as a dagger dangling from a belt. Its blade was secured in the handle and thus protected against external damage just like its wearer in the event of a mishap.

Despite its functionality and elegance, however, the NAVAJA had the disadvantage that it had to be unlocked to be collapsed. It is thanks to Pierre-Jean Calmels' inventive talent that this knife can be equipped with its own department (the spring steel in the back), can be opened and closed without having to release a blockade. And so with the LAGUIOLE, for the first time a knife has a blade that is firmly fixed in use, which, when closed, rests securely in the handle and does not unfold. Both functions are handled by the department's principle invented by Calmels. The principle of the modern pocket knife was invented.

Beautiful, simple and useful...it quickly became an indispensable companion for everyone. The cattle and sheep breeders needed a thorn (to pierce the intestines of colic), the carters also needed it to repair the leather of their draught animals. So the smiths added it as the first accessory to the blade.

Another loving detail on the handle of many LAGUIOLES, which is typical for the people of this region, also comes from very old times: a cross inlaid with small metal nails in the handle shells. It is said to have served the shepherds who once stayed with their animals at night and pushed the knife into the ground to pray in front of their cross.

At the end of the 19th century, however, Aveyron began to impoverish. The great rural exodus began and people moved to the cities in search of work. Some left France and went out into the wide world. Often many did not have more of their homeland in their pockets than their LAGUIOLE. But wherever you met a person who had the same knife, you knew each other among friends. They helped each other, shared bread and cheese and so the term "passport auvergnat" was born. Others, who had moved to Paris, quickly managed to conquer the capital with their famous hospitality and Auvergne cuisine. And where you drink wine, you need a corkscrew. The blacksmiths added it to the knife.

So the LAGUIOLE soon became known throughout France and became a coveted object. But after this heyday, the production of the knife disappeared from Aubrac, orphaned by poverty. It shifted to the industrial region of Thiers, where it vegetated for many decades. But because the

term "Laguiole" was known throughout the world, one did not have to wait long for "Veritable Laguioles" from the Far East....... In Laguiole itself, however, the production of this small knife had by no means reached such a low level. On the contrary. The aim was to reintroduce knife production to Laguiole itself. Where it was once born. This was to take place under new auspices and together with the definition of quality criteria, in order to distinguish itself clearly from the products of inferior quality manufactured elsewhere.

In the mid-1980s a new generation of knifemakers, together with the municipality of Laguiole, founded the association "Le Couteau de Laguiole", thus laying the foundation for a new forge, FORGE DE LAGUIOLE (the forge of Laguiole).

Many people believe that the bee on the handle of a Laguiole guarantees its authenticity. That is unfortunately wrong. Charm and beauty of the bee do not guarantee anything, neither authenticity, nor origin, nor quality.
Many people believe that the LAGUIOLE writing on the blade guarantees authenticity....unfortunately this is also wrong. The name of the birthplace of our little knife is just as unprotectable as the motif of the bee (or fly).

The quality standards of the FORGE DE LAGUIOLE

The production of a Laguioles takes hours. Sometimes, in special cases, days. More than 40 steps are required for a Laguiole with only one blade. If a corkscrew or even a mandrel is added, there can be over 100 different operations. Every single one of them, executed accurately and carefully, determines the longevity and quality of the knife, as does the quality of the components.

Close filters
from to
  •  
  •  
  •  
 
No results were found for the filter!
Forge de Laguiole Walnut Forge de Laguiole Walnut
The Manufacture Forge de Laguiole was founded in 1987. It brought the production of the famous Laguiole knife back to its birthplace. The design of the building was entrusted to Philippe Starck, who perfectly implemented the company's...
€133.00 *
Forge de Laguiole Thuja Forge de Laguiole Thuja
The Manufacture Forge de Laguiole was founded in 1987. It brought the production of the famous Laguiole knife back to its birthplace. The design of the building was entrusted to Philippe Starck, who perfectly implemented the company's...
€143.00 *
Forge de Laguiole Birch Forge de Laguiole Birch
The Manufacture Forge de Laguiole was founded in 1987. It brought the production of the famous Laguiole knife back to its birthplace. The design of the building was entrusted to Philippe Starck, who perfectly implemented the company's...
€133.00 *
Forge de Laguiole Amourette Forge de Laguiole Amourette
The Manufacture Forge de Laguiole was founded in 1987. It brought the production of the famous Laguiole knife back to its birthplace. The design of the building was entrusted to Philippe Starck, who perfectly implemented the company's...
€133.00 *
Forge de Laguiole Ebony Forge de Laguiole Ebony
The Manufacture Forge de Laguiole was founded in 1987. It brought the production of the famous Laguiole knife back to its birthplace. The design of the building was entrusted to Philippe Starck, who perfectly implemented the company's...
€133.00 *

Produkte von Forge de Laguiole

Forge de Laguiole

LAGUIOLE, ein kleines Dorf auf den vulkanischen Hochplateaus des Aveyron/Aubrac in Südfrankreich gab einem Messer seinen Namen, unter dem es heute in der ganzen Welt bekannt ist: dem "Laguiole" (man spricht es Lajoll!)
Alles begann 1829 in dem kleinen Städtchen Laguiole im Aveyron, im Süden der Auvergne, als ein junger Schmied mit Namen Pierre-Jean Calmels ein Messer entwickelte, wie es so in der Geschichte der Messerschmiedekunst zuvor noch nicht bekannt war.

Die Menschen seiner Region waren Viehzüchter und Bauern. Berühmt sind ihre Spezialitäten: der "Roquefort" aus Millau, der "Laguiole"-Käse aus Laguiole, die Rinder, deren vorzügliches Fleisch in ganz Frankreich als besondere Delikatesse gilt, die Würste, die in der klaren, trockenen Luft des Aveyron besonders delikat reifen. Auch exzellente Weine wurden in der Auvergne schon immer hergestellt und man verfügt über einen damals wichtigen Bodenschatz: Kohle.

Viele Auvergnatten waren deshalb "Routiers" (von "la route", die Straße), die mit ihren Pferdefuhrwerken durch Frankreich zogen und manchmal weit nach Spanien kamen. Sie hatten seinerzeit mit den Bauern und Viehzüchtern eines gemeinsam: an ihrem Gürtel trugen sie den "Capuchadou", den typischen kleinen Dolch des Aveyron. Eines Tages brachten sie von ihren Fahrten nach Spanien ein Messer mit, das es ihnen angetan hatte und das sie ihrem Messerschmied zeigten: ein NAVAJA. Es war unbestreitbar dem CAPUCHADOU überlegen, denn es war zusammenklappbar und deshalb leicht in der Hosentasche zu verstauen. Dieses Messer war nicht hinderlich wie ein Dolch, der am Gürtel baumelte. Seine Klinge war im Griff geborgen und damit gegen äußere Beschädigungen genauso geschützt wie sein Träger im Falle eines Missgeschicks.

Bei aller Funktionalität und Eleganz hatte das NAVAJA jedoch den Nachteil, dass man es umständlich entriegeln musste, um es zusammenzuklappen. Dem Erfindergeist Pierre-Jean Calmels' ist es zu verdanken, dass dieses Messer mit seinem Ressort (dem Federstahl im Rücken) versehen, sich öffnen und schließen lässt, ohne dass eine Blockade gelöst werden muss. Und so verfügt mit dem LAGUIOLE zum ersten Mal ein Messer über eine im Gebrauch fest fixierte Klinge, die umgekehrt in geschlossenem Zustand sicher im Griff geborgen ruht und nicht herausklappt. Beide Funktionen werden durch das von Calmels erfundene Prinzip des Ressorts bewältigt. Das Prinzip des modernen Taschenmessers war erfunden.

Schön, einfach und nützlich...so wurde es schnell zum unentbehrlichen Begleiter für jedermann. Die Rinder- und Schafszüchter benötigten einen Dorn (zum Anstechen des Darms bei Koliken), die Fuhrleute ebenfalls zur Reparatur des Lederzeugs ihrer Zugtiere. Also fügten ihn die Schmiede als erstes Zusatzteil der Klinge hinzu

Ebenfalls aus ganz alten Zeiten stammt ein weiteres liebevolles Detail auf dem Griff vieler LAGUIOLES, das typisch ist für die Menschen dieser Region: ein aus kleinen Metallnägeln in die Griffschalen eingelegtes Kreuz. Man erzählt, dass es den Hirten diente, die einst nachts bei ihren Tieren blieben und die das Messer in den Boden stießen, um so vor ihrem Kreuz beten zu können.

Am Ende des 19.Jhs. jedoch begann das Aveyron zu verarmen. Die große Landflucht setzte ein und auf der Suche nach Arbeit zogen die Menschen in die Städte. Manche verließen Frankreich und zogen in die weite Welt hinaus. Vielen blieb dabei oft nicht mehr von der Heimat als ihr LAGUIOLE in der Tasche. Aber wo immer man einen Menschen traf, der ein gleiches Messer besaß, wusste man sich unter Freunden. Man half einander, teilte Brot und Käse und so entstand der Begriff des "passport auvergnat“, des auvergnattischen Reisepasses. Andere, die nach Paris gezogen waren, schafften es schnell, mit ihrer berühmten Gastfreundschaft und der guten Küche der Auvergne die Hauptstadt zu erobern. Und wo man Wein trinkt, benötigt man einen Korkenzieher. Die Schmiede fügten ihn dem Messer hinzu.

So wurde das LAGUIOLE bald in ganz Frankreich bekannt und zu einem begehrten Objekt. Doch nach dieser Blütezeit verschwindet die Produktion des Messers aus dem durch Armut verwaisten Aubrac. Sie verlagert sich in die Industrieregion von Thiers und dort vegetierte sie viele Jahrzehnte mehr schlecht als recht vor sich hin. Aber weil der

Begriff "Laguiole" in der ganzen Welt bekannt war, musste man auf "Veritable Laguioles" (Echte Laguioles) aus Fernost nicht lange warten...... In Laguiole selbst hatte man sich aber keineswegs damit abgefunden, dass die Produktion dieses kleinen Messers auf einem so tiefen Niveau angekommen war. Ganz im Gegenteil. Man strebte eine Wiederansiedlung der Messerherstellung in Laguiole selbst an. Dort wo es einst geboren wurde. Geschehen sollte dies unter neuen Vorzeichen und zusammen mit der Definition von Qualitätskriterien, um sich klar von den andernorts hergestellten Produkten minderer Qualität abzugrenzen.

Mitte der 80er Jahre gründet eine neue Generation von Messermachern zusammen mit der Kommune Laguiole den Verein "Le Couteau de Laguiole“ und legt damit den Grundstein für eine neue Schmiede, die FORGE DE LAGUIOLE(die Schmiede von Laguiole).

Viele Menschen glauben, die Biene auf dem Griff eines Laguioles sei Garant für seine Echtheit. Das ist leider falsch. Charme und Schönheit der Biene garantieren nichts, weder Echtheit, noch Herkunft, noch Qualität.
Viele Menschen glauben, der Schriftzug LAGUIOLE auf der Klinge garantiere Echtheit....auch das ist leider falsch. Der Name des Geburtsortes unseres kleinen Messers ist ebenso wenig schützbar wie die das Motiv der Biene (oder Fliege).

Die Qualitätsstandards der FORGE DE LAGUIOLE

Die Herstellung eines Laguioles benötigt Stunden. Manchmal, in besonderen Fällen, Tage. Über 40 Arbeitsschritte sind für ein Laguiole nur mit einer Klinge erforderlich. Kommen ein Korkenzieher oder gar noch ein Dorn hinzu, können es über 100 verschiedene Arbeitsgänge sein. Jeder einzelne, genau und sorgfältig ausgeführt, entscheidet genauso wie die Qualität der Bestandteile über Langlebigkeit und Qualität des Messers.

Filter schließen
von bis
  •  
  •  
  •  
 
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Forge de Laguiole Nussbaum Forge de Laguiole Nussbaum
133,00 € *
Forge de Laguiole Thuja Forge de Laguiole Thuja
143,00 € *
Forge de Laguiole Birke Forge de Laguiole Birke
133,00 € *
Forge de Laguiole Amourette Forge de Laguiole Amourette
133,00 € *
Forge de Laguiole Ebenholz Forge de Laguiole Ebenholz
133,00 € *